Stylish Words of Comfort

23 Apr

GirlSeeksShoe here.

Style and comfort. Many in the fashion world believe that the two can never go hand in hand. And maybe they’re right. I have never worn a truly comfortable pair of heels. My mascara has never lasted 24 hours without somehow dislodging my contacts. And don’t even get me started on waxing.

But, even if style can’t be comfortable, comfort can be stylish.

You know those days when you need a mental hug? When you just need someone to sit you down and tell you that everything is going to be okay? Well, they seem to be more prevalent in today’s society than ever before. Maybe it’s because everyone is living the fast-paced over-achieving life. Maybe it’s the financial issues that seem to piling up at our doors. Hell, maybe it’s even politics! Who knows? But one outcome of this doom-and-gloom mentality is that people are focusing like never before on comforting, inspirational quotes and sayings.

And that has never been more stylish.

I was never really sucked in to the “Keep Calm and Carry On” craze. It was always just so…red.

                  

But these, I totally get:

As these show, having a bit of comfort in your everyday life can be quite stylish… and very on trend. There is something about that clean aesthetic and fabulous range of colours that appeals to me, and it definitely cheers me up.

And, as for my absolute favourite stylish yet comforting slogan I have seen… well, the old favourite has been cleverly updated for our time:

 

I leave you with few more words of wisdom, that I discovered the other day:

GirlStillSeekingShoe xoxo

One Response to “Stylish Words of Comfort”

  1. Sarah April 23, 2011 at 10:00 am #

    I love the motto of the last one, and the blogging one is very appropriate. These definitely brought a smile to my lips, and they come in all sorts of colours so can be placed in any house!

    Sarah

    x

Leave a Reply

