Happiness Is Perfume…

5 May

GirlSeeksShoe here.

James Van Der Zee said that “happiness is perfume, you can’t pour it on somebody else without getting a few drops on yourself”. Which to me speaks volumes about good karma and the power of human kindness. But, on a superficial level, there is a part of me (interestingly that’s the same part that likes eating cookie dough) that knows perfume is happiness.

My mother wore Yves Saint Laurent’s Opium for much of my childhood, with Hugo Boss’ Boss Woman as her work scent. Even now she has moved onto Vera Wang, the smell of either never fails to remind me of her. This is hardly surprising, considering we humans can distinguish between 5000 and 10000 smells, and can link each to memory, person or place.

Another quote for you to make of what you will. Christian Dior said that “a woman’s perfume tells more about her than her handwriting”. Something to dwell on next time you have a quick spritz before rushing out of the door.

As with shoes, there are the perfumes I use daily, which characterise the different parts of my life. And then there are the ones I want, the ones I veritably covet; my wish-list, if you will.

The ones I use are as follows:

Daytime; the shopping/hanging with friends/having fun mood – Escada, Rockin’ Rio

My first perfume was a present and has come to absolutely define me. Even now, it surprises me that someone knew me that well. Flirty, fun and very fruity with floral undertones.

Daytime; the working/lessons/business-like mood – Calvin Klein, Eternity Moment

Funnily enough, this is the perfume I use the most, probably because I wear it five times a week. Its sharp clean scent makes me feel super-organised… even when I don’t have a pen to my name. It is a bit androgynous, but with undertones of sexy to balance it out. Clean, classy and makes me feel cultured.

Anytime; Lounging at home/in need of comfort/cosy mood – Next, Cashmere

 

Cheap and cheerful is the only way to describe this cozy, comforting scent I use at home in autumn/winter.

Anytime; Out and about/want a change mood – Harajuku Lovers, LOVE

Gwen Stefani’s brand is very funky, and looks really cute on my desk. I’ll admit that the scent is not really to my taste, but when I need a bit of extra oomph I wear it for a change. Because if my perfume bottle is a cute confident chick, it’s bound to rub off on me… right?

Anytime; S.E.X.Y. mood – Benefit, Laugh With Lee-lee

The only perfume I have ever bought for myself is just fabulous. The bottle is gorgeous, the box is amazing, and the inside of the box is even better! Everytime I spray this I feel sweet, sunny, and, most importantly, sexy. And don’t ask for an explanation because I honestly have no idea why!

Evening/Night/The Morning After; Dressing up/Party mood – Sarah Jessica Parker – Covet

 

It smells like a night out. No lie.

 I absolutely believe in the image of a perfume. The bottle, the colour, the box, even the advertising campaign. Each are to me as important as the scent itself. The perfumes on my wish-list meet all of my criteria.

 

Chanel No. 5 – I thought I’d start with the most obvious. What girl doesn’t want to walk around smelling like a fashion icon? Coco Chanel herself famously said “A woman who doesn’t wear perfume has no future”. So just to be on the safe side, Chanel’s iconic bestseller is on my must-have list.

Tommy Hilfiger, Tommy Girl – This one is kind of a family tradition. The girl’s first perfume in my generation, throughout my cousins, has been Tommy Girl. Apart from mine apparently. So I want it.

Dior, Miss Dior Cherie – The advertising says it all. Natalie Portman.

Balloons.

And Natalie Portman.

Natalie Portman vs. Miss Dior Cherie Perfume Hot TV Commercial

Juicy Couture, Viva La Juicy –  Although I am generally not a fan of Juicy Couture as a brand, again it was the advertisement that got me. If you haven’t seen it… google it now! Alternatively click on the picture below:

Marc Jacobs, Daisy –  I think it’s that there are now so many to choose from, and ever-increasing variations of the bottle design… It could just be the smell. But I have loved this since it was first released and that shows no sign of changing.

       

And at the absolute top of my wish-list is a scent I first smelt in a magazine, and then it only got better. Unusually for me, this one is all about the smell, and I have not even seen a single advertisement.

Viktor & Rolf, Flowerbomb.

 It smells divine.

 But it is tres cher.

I’m sure this list will be added to soon. Who doesn’t like to have something in common with Donatella Versace? “I like perfume and flowers”. Indeed I do. What’s your scent? Let me know in the comments,

GirlStillSeekingShoe xoxo

N.B. I do see the irony of writing about scents, but just remember to sniff my favourites when you’re in Duty Free at the airport.

Disclaimer; I am no perfume expert, these are all my own opinions and definitions of the scents. Take my advice… No smell, no buy.

2 Responses to “Happiness Is Perfume…”

  1. Sharla Hunkin May 15, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

    Hello, I hopped over to your site and it is not blog post I would typically read, but I loved your perspective on it. Thanks for creating a blog post worth reading!

  2. Isaac Muckel May 16, 2011 at 7:20 am #

    Thanks for the excellent post.. Regards.

Leave a Reply

