FBF Friday – Not A Fashion Blogger

24 Jun

GirlSeeksShoe here.

I love clothes, and shoes, and writing/blogging about the things I love. But I don’t feel like a fashion blogger.

Fashion bloggers are those pretty sparkly people whose blogs are filled with pictures of fantatstic quality, and wear outfits that just ooze style. I’m just a girl who likes to write about clothes and the latest thing that’s in Vogue. I’ll be the first to admit that I don’t set trends; hell, I haven’t even lived long enough to form my own concrete style. Fashion bloggers are grown-ups, with views and subscribers. So I’m going to answer this week’s set of FBFF questions not as a fashion blogger but as myself; an 18 year old girl who is looking for some affordable clothes that don’t fall apart after a week and starting a collection of shoes. I just happen to be blogging about it.

1. Since you began blogging do you notice a change in the types of things you gravitate towards while shopping?

Nope not really. I blog about what I buy, but I don’t buy for blogging. True, sometimes I look at a rack of clothes and think, “That would make an interesting blog post”, but it won’t be the prospect of blogging that made me ‘gravitate’ towards that rack of clothes. I shop for that warm fuzzy feeling I get inside when I spend money I don’t have on things I maybe don’t need. And if the prospect of blogging ever begins to overtake my love of shopping when I walk into New Look, I’ll know it’s time to stop.

2. Do you find, as a fashion blogger, that you dress differently from your family and friends? Do they comment on that?

My dress sense and/0r my sense of style has nothing to do my blogging. It’s what made me think about blogging in the first place. Yes, I my dress sense is what some wold call unique and others would (hopefully) call stylish. But, baby, I was born this way.

3.  What’s the weirdest fashion that you secretly like, even if you aren’t bold enough to wear it?

I like this question. More often than not, I see someone wearing something spectacular, hunt it down, and find that it doesn’t suit me at all! *Ahem, chinos anyone?* But the weirdest fashion I secretly love, but am definitely terrified of, would have to be harem pants.

Turquoise (Blue) Drop Crotch Trousers | 217603948 | New LookDeep Red (Red) Twill Pleat Harem Trousers | 221425762 | New Look

Especially the leopard print ones. Two terrifiying trends combined into one unwearable look that only a Kardashian could get away with.


4. Looking at current trends – what would you like to try but need to build up the courage to do?

Apart from harem pants, probably red lipstick, which I am totally going to try… just not yet…

5. Toot someone’s horn – what fashion blogger out there inspires you with her bold fashion choices?

Kimberly at eat.sleep.wear. To me she is the epitome of fashion blogging; stunning photography combined with flawless fashion choices, she wears all the things I wish I could pull off. For me, fashion blogging began as escapism, a peek into other people’s lives, and Kimberly’s blog is just a perfect pick-me-up.

1IMG_9259

She definitely knows how to wear fashion.

GirlStillSeekingShoe xoxo

One Response to “FBF Friday – Not A Fashion Blogger”

  1. ceriheathcote June 27, 2011 at 11:34 am #

    I have tried harem pants and found them incredibly unflattering, never again! Although there may be some better versions of this style.

Leave a Reply

